The color of my Love..

It seems only right that you no more like the color.

Like you have remembered every second we had spent together; you would also recall how often we had argued about whose choice of color was better. We would reason out noisily during the recess and form support groups for ourselves, who would then scream some more- naming the colors. We would grin like a fool if there was any mention of our favorite color in the course book- chapters. We would count how often we viewed the shades of the color while running around the school playground.

At 11, I was as bizarre a kid as I am now at 33 today. Only, that I am no more a kid now. I would hunt for a lavender shade and flaunt my painted talons with pride. Being good at academics had its own twisted advantages. The teachers never noticed that it was I who had dared breaking the rules of the school!

In my growing up years I had hardly realized how in desire to compete with your feelings towards me; I had started to like the other color too- supposedly your favorite color. I felt honored if someone called me grasshopper, greenery or parrot- fairy. I loved anyone who addressed me as OLIVE..!

Did you know that the two colors lie diametrically opposite to each other in a color wheel? Alas! We could never complement each other..

Meeting you in 2005, and after an emotionally wringing experience that it was; I am surprised at myself having startled looking at that image. How the two colors (clicked) together made me think of you. Again..! Sincerely, I tried to think of everything else for the story; but I could barely develop any other thought. I see you smirking at me. This is how I am- still declaring what it is; remaining true to my feelings and still holding on to this afflicted love. Has it anything to do with the fact that I had dreamt of you again? Or is it my sub- conscious mind making me think only of you!

Today, I (again) smiled looking at the image Magpie Tales prompted us with.

My love for you remains as passionate as my fave color! I know your Love for me is no more green..

It is I who has carried both the colors as though my personal favorite. It is I who still loves you!

Somehow, it feels only right..

  • Filed under My Life Instances. Follow the link for Continuity, Relevance or Reference.
About Olivia

Corporate worker, textile designer, writer.
This entry was posted in My Biopic Log, My mind and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to The color of my Love..

  1. Becca Givens says:

    ” … It is I who has carried both the colors as though my personal favorite. It is I who still loves you!
    Somehow, it feels only right.”

    Olivia, this is lovely. Nice ending … thank you for sharing. becca

  2. Helena White says:

    Your blog is lovely as well!
    Thank you for your kinds words!!!!

    ♥ ஆεlεɳa ~.^

  3. Alice Audrey says:

    Purple?

    Can you guess what my favorite color is? I’ll give you a hint. It isn’t on the color wheel.

  4. claudia says:

    sometimes it can be the strangest things that click together and bring back some memories..

  5. Bodhirose says:

    Some of our memories just never seem to recede into the backs of our minds… I enjoyed this Olivia! Thanks for sharing and as always being so candid!

    Hugs… xx

  6. brian says:

    what an evocative write olivia…very nicely written….

  7. Kavita says:

    (holy bow)
    I guess that’s what they had originally meant when they has said ‘opposites attract’!

    A very emotional read, Liv.. VERY!

    • Olivia says:

      hahaha.. didn’t really see it this way till you said it here- sigh!!
      My email still gives reminder – tomorrow happens to be his birthday- lolss

      Crazy love n crazier me 🙂

  8. Purple passionate indeed.

    I feel our kindred spirits bonding even more after reading this — I’m as weird now at 46 as I was back at 11 too!! 🙂

    Lone live we weirdies.

    xo

  9. Lucy Westenra says:

    Sad in a way to disagree about colours or colors. But I see the point and appreciate he writing.

  10. ~T~ says:

    Such vivid memories!

  11. Shari Sunday says:

    Oh, I know exactly what you mean. I don’t think of it often, but it is still there after many years. Your post reminded me again.

  12. DebbyMcC says:

    So evocative. The past has such hold on us. It is amazing the memories the prompt is eliciting.

  13. lolamouse says:

    Wow, this did bring back memories of childhood days, fighting over which color was the “best.” I was also one of the “good” students who was able to break rules because I got excellent grades! Being studious does have its advantages! Nice write!

  14. Becca Givens says:

    beautiful and insightful account … I love colors – and they speak volumes … thank you for sharing! ~becca

  15. Tess Kincaid says:

    Nice write, Olivia.

  16. Artswebshow says:

    Wow, i know the feeling.
    Exceptionally good writing here

  17. thingy says:

    Beautiful and heartfelt, Olivia. : )

  18. An emotional look back. Beautifully done.

Say something..

