Eggliciously Yours

I love gorging on eggs and that’s a grave understatement.

Like a small little child who remains crazy for a bar of ice- cream every day, day after day; I am as biased towards the humble eggs! When young; I would make egg cones out of boiled egg whites mashing the yolks with the rest of the fillings. Elders had dismissed saying I would eventually grow out of that.

If at all, the fondness has grown back on me.

I take great pride in washing all the eggs before shelfing those in both the fridges. Like mini crystal balls they sit perched on the egg tray. I hate the fridge companies who don’t provide enough trays or big enough pits to hold the eggs. How non egg- friendly their design ideas are. Right from the deal of buying some, to prepare and eat; I remain as excited as one could be! The store I buy my – oh so breakable shells from, knows me darn too well. Reasons

  • I would buy 4 -5 boxes at one go..
  • I would hand- pick each one of them checking their size and weight!

I carry a huge grudge against the people who mis- treat the poor egg.

They would whip some, throwing in some chopped onions and fry the mix- in name of preparing omelet; till it becomes brown like bread and chewy like leather. The best egg dishes are prepared with a lot of care and some extra time to not really over- cook but cook with breaks. That ways, you get perfect melt-in-your-mouth-consistency eggs and yet not runny.

That’s how I prepare my egg dishes!

No matter how I may cook those; I love the running yolks. So be it any dish, I have learnt to keep one yolk (if not all) separately, at one side of the pan so I take all pleasure at the last morsel of my meal. It maybe hardened only enough for me to slide the golden globe gently onto my spoon and then plop! The orange, morning sun like, never to be spilled, considered a crime if at all- yolk bursts open within the confines of my mouth. I almost squeal orgasmic bouts while eating those. On some occasions I keep noising throughout my eating time. If in company; I close my eyes to feel the ecstasy!

“……………………………..”

I couldn’t be thankful enough for Magpie Tales doing this theme. Only this morning I had thought about writing this about eggs.

The 1st thing I cooked without being observed was the fried eggs. They were better than how mom used to. Mom had kept screaming the recipe from the washroom while doing the laundry! Despite her several “don’t forget to”, I didn’t spice it up! She would use turmeric so it becomes a dead leather patty. She could never learn how it was to be cooked before folding. I sincerely apologize for treating these fragile gem stones as veggies that we love to kill frying high throwing in as many spices! On the contrary, my granny prepared perfect white omelet. Although I didn’t get the opportunity to learn directly from her; I prepare pearly white omelets unless the yolk is a glowing sun!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • The sunny side up with running yolks
  • The poached eggs with running yolks
  • Fried rice with eggs thrown in; atleast one running yolk saved at one side of the pan
  • Boiled eggs with running yolks
  • Sauteed onion rings with broccoli and eggs with running yolks
  • mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm……!

My Dear eggs, cheer up pearly ones! I am not at all bothered about your antecedents. I am not a prude. It doesn’t bother my skin whether it was eggs or the chickens that came first!

On a heavier note: We don’t get the double yolks too often here. That’s a rarity. Finding a right sized egg is a another big challenge. The brown shelled eggs make good omelets only. It’s the white shells with glowing orange yolks those are versatile. I even layer eggs while preparing. Fried, almost cooked, half cooked with running yolks on top! Anyone who thinks that yolk is calorie laden; please check the link. It’s a mega eye- opener about egg- nutrition.

~*~*~

***Submitted for Magpie Tales***

~*~*~

About Olivia

Corporate worker, textile designer, writer.
This entry was posted in Humor, My Biopic Log, My Kitchen Preparations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Eggliciously Yours

  1. I love your blog! It’s just so honest,up close and personal and because of that hits close to home.Wonderful stuff
    Huggzz!

    • Olivia says:

      Thank you Dear One! I thought you had participated in Poetry Rally. Couldn’t find your name so commented on the 1st post on your blog!
      This is where I do my biography.. the other one where you commented first is my Poetry/dreams/art- work blog..

      Thank yo so much.. 😀
      Hugs xox

  2. Tess Kincaid says:

    I’m so hungry now!

  3. Steve Isaak says:

    Love the spirit and execution (word-wise) of that spirit – exemplary.

  4. Becca Givens says:

    I love eggs too – so I found this EGG-cellent … 🙂 You never disappoint, Olivia. Congrats on the Outstanding Poet of National Poetry month. BRAVO!! Well deserved.

    • Olivia says:

      Thank you Becca!!!!! Thank you so much- 🙂
      You are so sweet.. If I try n reply to your comment- I’ll have to thank you endlessly.. Thank you again!!

      Much love xoxox

  5. Jinksy says:

    The ones with the veggies would do me nicely, right now! Yum!

    • Olivia says:

      aaw Thank you so much Jinksy Dear!!
      I wish you could click and download that image directly onto your page.. Will have to wait till science cracks the code.. 😀

      Many eggs..oooopps Hugs xxx

  6. Lyn says:

    An ode to the egg..priceless..I’m afraid to show you mine!!

  7. lolamouse says:

    Olivia,
    Eggsellent Magpie! And now I’m hungry! How I hate leathery eggs too! Have an eggstra special day!

  8. Mary says:

    I like the way you appreciate and respect the food that sustains you. Now I’m getting hungry Olivia!

  9. Tumblewords says:

    Tasty post – I can’t imagine not having eggs in the fridge. Your cooking sounds delightful.

  10. Bodhirose says:

    Oh my goodness, a smorgasbord of all egg dishes! You are very creative with your varied ways of preparing them, Olivia. I love them too. Although I am a vegetarian, I do eat eggs and dairy foods.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this! 🙂

  11. Olivia — this does not surprise me, my life twin.

    I LOVE eggs. Poached, boiled, scrambled. Plain with just a little butter and salt. fancier.

    You know how in America Halloweeners eat 5 kg of candy each the night of trick-or-treating? Well, once when I was maybe 12, I came home so SICK of candy I actually scrambled myself up 4 eggs, ate them and went to sleep to dream of happy chickens dancing to showtunes by the light of a silvery moon.

    xoxo

    • Olivia says:

      lolssssss for
      1. Yet another similarity- twins indeed separated in this life..
      2. I LOVE EGGGGZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
      3. happy chickens dancing to showtunes by the light of a silvery moon..? Sounds unusual for sure but I guess they wanted to thank you for honoring them..

      lolss

      Hugs MyD xoxox

  12. Helen says:

    Eggstremely well done! Just the way I like mine!

  13. versebender says:

    Great tribute to the egg. I am also a big fan….like them over-easy with a runny yolk and also hard fried in a sandwich. Don’t care for scrambled…like the to taste the yolk and white separately. Vb

    • Olivia says:

      You said it! I like it separately too! That’s precisely why I separate the yolks at one side of the pan- 😀

      Thank you for liking this one..

      Hugs xoxox

  14. I’m with you. I have an old balck and white photo of myself when I was about 4 on Easter. I’m looking pretty sick. My mother told me that a few seconds after she snapped the picture I barfed…had over-indulged on Easter eggs.

    • Olivia says:

      oh my my Victoria!
      Thank heavens I haven’t gotten any close to doing that sorta thing yet.. although sometimes it becomes so tough to control.. 😀

      Hugs xx

  15. Reflections says:

    Very egglightening post! I too love the glory of eggs, served most any way… Was never very fond of the runny yolk until I became an adult. Think it was all the raw eggs my dad used to drink to gross us out. Ah… probably so there would be more of the delectable kind left for him.

    • Olivia says:

      I know watching someone drinking raw egg is definitely not very pleasant!
      lolss your dad knew it too well- isn’t it?

      When I sit brooding about eggs, I feel how amazing they really are.. 😆
      soft, delectable & egglicious.. 😀

      Hugs xx

  16. Kodjo Deynoo says:

    I use to fry six eggs at a time, I love them too
    omelets, fried, boiled, u name it….we are the egg heads. lol

  17. jabblog uk says:

    Delicious writing! Delightful meals.

  18. Isabel Doyle says:

    there is a wonderful food emporium in London where eggs are displayed in a pyramid and you can choose your own – also a wonderful variety of different hens eggs, and other fowl …

    • Olivia says:

      Oh man!! Can I come there already?
      I wish Indian markets knew this & cared enough.. 🙄

      This sounds eggnanimous- awrite now I am getting carried away!
      Hugs xx

  19. honeyhaiku says:

    Love it! The incredible edible egg. I love my yolks runny too!

  20. An eggcellent recipe for a post.

  21. Elaine Spall says:

    What a wonderfully entertaining and enlightening write. Lots of passion in here too.
    The food looks so yummy, I’m salivating. Set an extra place…I’m coming over!

    • Olivia says:

      Please do.. yay!!
      I could now boast about my cooking skills too- 😀

      Thank you so much for appreciating this. Couldn’t thank Magpie enough!!
      Hugs x

Say something..

