Taking a Bald Step

  • The water will flow down your body keeping in contact with the skin surface right from the first point when it hits your head..
  • Your head would feel airy..
  • You will save on shampoo expense!

Some of the “intense imageries” my domestic maid has painted around what I have decided to do finally! What she doesn’t understand is there is much more than those silly parameters by which she leads her life currently.

  • I am a rebel and also a protagonist.
  • Moreso, I’ll do exactly that which is considered taboo!
  • You may call me unconventional.

My version:

  • I am a rebel.
  • I take pride in doing exactly what is considered taboo!
  • I am unconventional.
  • I tend to do things that would make the eye- balls pop out; if not the wits!
  • I love the attention
  • I love to experiment.
  • I want to try everything once- oh yessss! If I like it; I will make it my signature style. Go ahead, run your imagination wild now!
  • I wish to break all that which restricts a woman.
  • My mom was a daring do herself. Blame it on her for polluting my mind with her sermons.

If you are reading this; then I have done it already.

Plus points:

  • Ever- ready to step out without really bothering about styling.
  • I now wear a contemporary style all the time.
  • No bad hair days!
  • I can head shower as many times as I would want to in a single day without worrying about infecting/enlarging my tonsil glands.

This one’s to you Dear Mom!

This is one of the steps taken towards breaking free from all possible tangible n intangible attachments!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~*~*~

Submitted for Magpie Tales

~*~*~

  • Filed under I, Me, Myself. Follow the link for Continuity, Relevance or Reference.

About Olivia

Corporate worker, textile designer, writer.
This entry was posted in Humor, My Biopic Log, My mind, Our Society. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Taking a Bald Step

  1. 2zpoint says:

    I am struck Olivia! But very thankful…my first reaction to your FB pic was as the same as to my mom when she cut off all her hair because she didn’t want the cancer to take it. Bald is expressive! may you wear it well. I am so thankful I was able to read this and see that you still have your health. May you always stay free as a bird and see life from so many angles even when you get old. Peace be with you.

    • Olivia says:

      wow Stuart! That is so kind of you indeed to wish me so well.. 🙂

      I used to stay scared of the condition till sometime back.. till I had read Frayedges. I so wish to stay fit for all my life for more than 1 reason. I have seen my mom suffering and dieing of her condition (cesarean taking its toll). I have practically spent my childhood in the hospital.

      Thank you again for your wishes.. I hope I leave a style or two for my old age too.. 😀
      Many Hugs Dear xoxox

  2. Jingle says:

    bravo.
    is that you now?

    wow, have fun!

  3. Helena says:

    Cool napper! If my nose wasn’t so long I’d consider a baldy myself but the swordfish look pales in comparison to your funky one! I need my fluffy fringe……

    • Olivia says:

      Swordfish..? You have one helluva way with words.. lolss
      Thank you so much for your support.. Believe me, never had so much fun.. 😀

      Hugs xox

  4. Tumblewords says:

    Thinking and walking outside the box – good for you!

  5. The Reason You Come says:

    You are truly brave and bold! Here’s to you, girl! Break the rules and restrictions! 😀

    • Olivia says:

      hahahaha!

      Thank you Dear One! I guess rules are meant to be broken.. especially by me if made for women in particular!! 🙂
      Hugs xox

  6. Cheryl says:

    Olivia sweetheart, you look absolutely amazing! You rock girl. I wear my hear very short and natural but I don’t think I would ever have the nerve to go completely bald. You have nerves of steel. It focuses your darling face even more. Keep it as long as you feel comfortable with it. You look beautiful.

    • Olivia says:

      That’s right. I did think of you n your short hair!
      Was wondering if you too were bitten by the … thanks for clarifying.. hehehe

      Thank you so much for appreciating this.. indeed I am as comfortable as one could be.. enjoying others’ popping eye balls. lolssss
      Hugs a many xoxox

  7. Artswebshow says:

    Personally i’d like to have long hair like a rock star but unfortunately mine grows out not down, so i have to keep it short.
    Not quite that short though. lol

    • Olivia says:

      hehehehe!

      I know I get to the crazy bend at times (at times..? huh)
      Wait till I do what I had wanted to from long… wink!!

      xox

  8. PinkLady says:

    awwwww… that was really brave of you to do!!! olivia, there’s nothing wrong with being unconventional. you look so happy and so free. that’s all that matters. 🙂

    • Olivia says:

      hehehehe!

      That’s right Bingy Dear!!
      I still have many “why” suspended on my baldyhead.. 😆
      Thank you so much for our support n wishes.. many Hugs xoxox

  9. lolamouse says:

    You rock girl!!! Love the look! No bad hair days either! Won’t it be a bitch when it starts growing back in (itchy?) or will you keep it this way? You were very lucky to have such a strong mother. You will be an inspiration for girls yourself.

    • Olivia says:

      Thank you Sweetheart!

      Infact, it’s been 3 days n the hair is growing back already.. grrrr!! It isn’t at all itchy.. I too was thinking on the same lines. It feels so wonderful to be able to move around without being worried about hair, mess, combing, styling, sweating……

      Thank you yet again Dear.. I am yet to reach where people may call me an inspiration but I am sure mom would have loved it as much as you have..

      Hugs xoxox

  10. ladynimue says:

    I guess you gonna spoil me soon by your ways 😛
    Well i dont want to go bald though .. just to cut it very short ! Only if mom allows 😉

    • Olivia says:

      lolss Nimue!!

      I am only a tiny spark- you already have it in you- lolsss You know what I mean.. hehehehe
      Mom wouldn’t mind- tell her it’s IN.. 😆

      Do share your pics if you try that style out!
      Many Hugs xoxox

  11. Laurie Kolp says:

    Olivia~ You are an empowering woman… I’ve often thought about doing that, but am not quite there yet. Going without makeup is big enough for me right now. Bravo!

    • Olivia says:

      Hey Laurie!

      You are bold enough to have said it to begin with.. Even after writing it out in detail; I am being questioned “but why..?” on my FB profile.
      No matter how evolved we all become; we love to keep ourselves caged.. well not me certainly.. 🙂

      Being in India, someone who wears make- up is looked down upon- yeah, I’m taking about me again! But as I mentioned; I love to do exactly what is condemned! 😆
      Many Hugs xox

  12. Hi – this is Chloe from “Writing Days-Happy Days” with my new blog. Please visit “Blossom Dreams” if you can – possibly even subscribe 😉

    If I’m on your Blogroll, please can you change your link from Writing Days to Blossom Dreams?

    Many thanks and have a great day!!

    Chloe xx

  13. PARUL GURTU says:

    Well, never ever thought u in this style, but good to see you like this too. A very bold step in the country where we live, but people like you are making it to think beyond those traditional outlook. An eyeopener for those who have lots of lice and rough hair all the time. 🙂
    Now you don’t have to think of stylish hair cuttings and colorings . You have your own signature style of substance.
    love you
    parul

    • Olivia says:

      Yikessssss!!
      lolsss

      Thank you for your words here! I know what you mean.. indeed, it’s we who need to come up the barriers. Definitions are just that- a way of limiting us.
      Yes, it feels good.. no more to slog it upon combing n styling. Infact, I am now looking forward to newer short- hairstyles.. hahaha!

      It feels liberating to say the least- of all, spiritually!

      Much love n hugs
      xoxoxoxox

  14. Wow! you are spunky! Love the “bald” look by the way.It looks so liberating,just by looking at it.

    • Olivia says:

      You bet Dear!

      It just takes away that foolish sense of attachment towards all materialism.. I haven’t evolved yet; although steps taken.. 😆

  15. Kavita says:

    Now that’s what I call “smoooooooth”… LOVE the new and liberated look, babes!!
    Keep rockin’!!!

    • Olivia says:

      Thank you Kavs Dear!!
      I am having a ball of time.. It feel good to experiment as much as possible. Wish to try out everything atleast once.. This one is awesome!!

      Hugs xox

  16. lunawitch15 says:

    I was bald for a few years myself, not for those reasons, but due to fiberglass,…anywho
    the looks I got were faboulus. a tattooed, bald woman with scars who dresses like a gypsy. lol
    Good for you! I am so happy for you! do what makes YOU feel right. if you follow your instincts they never steer you wrong!
    Hear You ROAR! 🙂

    • Olivia says:

      Oh yeah!!!!!!! ***ROAR…!!!***

      Well, I am bald, dress pretty unconventionally for the society I stay in- they call me firang (foreigner) here.. will share what I get to hear now!
      Gosh- dressing like gypsy- I am liking what I’m reading here.. 😀

      if you follow your instincts they never steer you wrong!

      you said it!!

      Weekend Hugs xoxoxox

  17. cloakedmonk says:

    Fabulous! I especially like these reasons:

    I wish to break all that which restricts a woman.
    My mom was a daring do herself. Blame it on her for polluting my mind with her sermons.

    I hope I am this mom for my daughter. And I love that you are breaking boundaries. Keep on walking forward!

    Shalom,
    Terri
    CloakedMonk

    • Olivia says:

      Thank you Terri!!

      Even though I have written it in “bold” and just so many times; people still want to know WHY…?
      I mean what’s the biggie..? I do know this is unconventional but then again.. nevermind. I know the society I am a part of **giggles**

      Yes.. I am because of how my mom was- she was handicapped cruelly- or else she would have been here over- shadowing me. Then at times I feel, it’s she who is making me do all of that! Spooky!!

      A strong mother is what any daughter needs.

      I hope I am this mom for my daughter

      I am humbled indeed!!

      Many many hugs Dear friend xoxoxoxox

  18. iBeingMe says:

    Bald is bold step really 🙂

  19. Bodhirose says:

    I had no idea you meant this literally when I read this–yes you are now bald! Sometimes it can take a lot of courage to go against what mainstream society thinks or feels–or maybe it just takes one very strong-willed unconventional young woman.

    Love and hugs… xoxo

    • Olivia says:

      lolsss

      One very strong-willed unconventional young woman is all it takes! I am a handful anyway. I may have remained subdued.. just no one let me survive that way.
      Every time I show off my true colors; they give me some space to let me be.

      This time I’m not going to give in even if someone goes pleading with his nose down.
      I am a rebel and wish to remain one. Once “tamed”; I am then often treated like an animal.. done with it!!

      That went on a serious note- will share more on mail!
      Thank you for your wishes.. many hugs xoxox

  20. drewbrew says:

    M so awestruck that m at loss of words…….. You inspire me

  21. Ah…freedom! I like that. Lately I have been having dreams of dredlocks. Hmmmm.

    • Olivia says:

      Thank you Polly!
      I guess it maybe pointing out on something you need to work on- some thing that may be chaining you down.. perhaps!

      Weekend Hugs xoxox

Say something..

