The Red Balloon

Here I am, all soggy and feeling beyond being nostalgic. A movie that mom had made me watch back in my adolescent years; suddenly, came back to my mind a few days back. Knocking at the doors of my memory, the image of a red balloon floating across the street with a young boy chasing it, started flashing like some cinemascope reel being run in fast forward mode. Views of my then current living room, the television I watched it on and where I was seated to watch that, stood in the backdrop in electric colors.

I was unwell the day had wanted me to watch that movie. Maybe because she envied the culture she couldn’t be a part of; given the fact that my grandfather had migrated to India with East India Company coming to Calcutta shores. Like always, she had already narrated the story to me sometime back. I was asleep, when she had woken me up one late night and made me watch the movie.

I tried taking about it to my sweetheart, but he wouldn’t know. It wasn’t in his age time; but I took a chance since the movie had a foreign backdrop. It created quite a news in ’80s in India and was appraised for its critical fame. Watching the Grammy n Oscar award nights was more like a celebration at my place- till it was any close to be called as a home.

After not listening to any songs in the last 3 days, I finally plugged the pink Sony buds and played the recently taken penchant for “I remember” and went on to a blog I usually love to troll on. An image of a woman holding a pink balloon in her hand flashed up on my laptop screen. So where was the stopping now. Using whatever little I remembered of the movie, I googled the darn thing off in less than half a minute.

With that, I must say here, I always am able to gather whatever I need for myself. Time, distance and other such parameters to evaluate the level of difficulty and difference never seem to affect me- atleast till so far. Here I am, celebrating my wee bit of victory I achieved upon having finding the trace and the whole of it!!

About the movie:

The Red Balloon (French: Le Ballon rouge) is a 1956 fantasy featurette directed by French filmmaker Albert Lamorisse.

The thirty-four minute short, which follows the adventures of a young boy who one day finds a sentient, mute, red balloon, was filmed in the Ménilmontant neighborhood of Paris, France.

It won numerous awards, including an Oscar for Lamorisse for writing the best original screenplay in 1956 and the Palme d’Or for short films at the1956 Cannes Film Festival. The film also became popular with children and educators.

Lamorisse used his children as actors in the film. His son, Pascal Lamorisse, plays Pascal in the main role, and his daughter Sabine portrays a little girl.

P.S. I am not keeping well. I am going through severe emotional crisis.

About Olivia

Corporate worker, textile designer, writer.
This entry was posted in Yet to categorize. Bookmark the permalink.

Say something..

