It’s pouring-

7th February, 2011- 8.30pm

This is what inspires me-

  • To write
  • To emote
  • To put that smile back on my face

I have not been keeping well since last Tuesday. Only last night, I had to pop half a tablet of Flexon to tame the raging temperature. I am yet to assess what had caused this illness to take a hit on me. My maid had done some of her chanting to ward off that evil eye. It did seem to work yet again. I am not superstitious but do believe in occult and negative energies. May be meeting those new bunch of losers had set it on.

Like it had 10 days back, the weather had become awfully warm. There’s hardly any spring here. It’s straight summers after the winters- almost abruptly! The transition misses. So while I wasn’t really liking the sudden snapping of the weatherly temperature outside the house; I noticed that it had been keeping equally cloudy since the last 3 days. Keeping in mind how it rained only a few days back, I had almost focussed to bring some more down on this part of the earth!

3 days of prayers, reminding dear Nature how the science works (water cycle); it had decided to rain. It resulted in a scary storm of half hour with slanted rain and no electricity- remember, this is India? The wind was so strong that it felt as if would break the aluminium glass doors to make its way. I was both awestruck at the nature’s display of extreme weather changes as well as fascinated with it. The last time it rained a few days back was in the middle of night. Although my coughs had woken me up, I could only hear the pitter patter and not see much!

Anytime it’s about to rain, I break into coughs- no matter how well covered I may be. This evening, I could even smell that sweet scent in the air. So what if it rained only after 2 hours of my sniffing of it! As of now, it feels good. It’s become slightly colder than how it was.

Morning tomorrow; it’s going to be foggy again..

Lightning Desire

Filed under Coffee Table Stories. Follow the link for Continuity, Relevance or Reference.

~*~*~Submitted for Magpie Tales~*~*~

About Olivia

Corporate worker, textile designer, writer.
This entry was posted in My Biopic Log, My Observation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to It’s pouring-

  1. barbara says:

    Love you new look Olivia and the story is a gem…amazing how different things or nature effect us all so differently….the rain with its sweet smell can be subtle and beautiful…glad you are feeling better too…bkm

    Like

  2. Lucy Westenra says:

    It’s good to share your symptoms with blogfriends. You describe them, and the weather, very succinctly. I join with so many others here in hoping you are better.
    And thanks so much for your encouraging comments on mine. Now I’m off to follow that “bunch of losers” link . . .

    Like

  3. Steve Isaak says:

    Mood-effective, instantly involving piece. Quietly excellent.

    Like

  4. Carrie Burtt says:

    Glad you are feeling better now Olivia…love your rain photo! 🙂

    Like

  5. Tess Kincaid says:

    I can smell the sweet scent in the air.

    Like

  6. Reflections says:

    Great photo… I could almost hear the pitter patter on the roof, smell the scent with you. Nice take on the prompt. Glad you are feeling better.

    Like

  7. Tumblewords says:

    Glad you’re feeling better – that is a delightfully busy image!

    Like

  8. Lyn says:

    When in doubt, leave it to the occult! I too love the sweet scent of rain..like a cleansing of the spirit..stay in good health..

    Like

  9. versebender says:

    Glad you are feeling better. No doubt changes in the weather affect our health. Shame you don’t get a spring….the best of the seasons.

    Like

    • Olivia says:

      I know what you mean.. it’s gone before even it touches.. 😦
      But it happens twice.. one of course when winter retreats; 2nd time, just before Fall!

      Smiles

      Like

  10. Isabel Doyle says:

    lovely photo of the rain – and I hope by now you are ‘all better now’

    Like

  11. izzy says:

    Lovely magical post ! is the medicine you took Herbal or Man-made? Pharmaceutical-
    Yes I had a long go round with coughing in our very cold snowy inter- Much better now that flowers are coming back!

    Like

  12. Scent of my heart says:

    I hope you feel well by today and the fever and the cold is gone … Amazing rain picture, it almost makes me love rain 🙂 Be well dear!

    Like

  13. soulbro* says:

    want some snow Love..we have tons of it…it feels like we are definitely going to get an early spring as you can smell the air as we lose that frosty chill in smelling it and the birds are chirping happily….hope all will clear soon for you enjoy as well(+)
    Dom* 😉 xoxoxo—{–@

    Like

    • soulbro* says:

      yes a great photo indeed..shows movement…”still” moving…my mantra always… 😉 xoxoxo—{–@

      Like

      • Olivia says:

        Really, send some snow this way!

        Whatever, it never rains enough- forget all about snow.. The geo location doesn’t allow any bit of ice to fall on this part of the earth. Hail storm is as far as it goes- when the temperature goes really soaring- again the phenomenon is rare. It seemingly is becoming desert like.

        It used to be pleasant in my childhood days. Evenings were always pleasant no matter what- now, only winters are! Early spring- wow! Over the last few years, I have started to love to watch how Nature transitions from one season to another. Yes, you can tell by smelling the air..

        Happy Spring
        Love xxx

        Like

  14. kolembo says:

    Oh, I feel for you. Great photo by the way.

    Like

  15. uma.a says:

    As you have mentioned ,sometimes it is the plight that is still existing in India…heavy rains and no electricity…
    Enjoyed your reading!

    Want a challenge?Why not try this one?
    http://umaspoembook.blogspot.com/2011/02/experimenting-with-poetry-forms-senryu.html

    Like

    • Olivia says:

      It’s a privately managed colony by Ansals. They kind of switch it off to avoid bigger issues.. but at times they are a pain at the wrong place.. 🙂
      Thank you for the invite. I would have to decline it this time. I have 2 of my blogs n working as an official with Jingle Poetry, I am not wanting to experiment any much with juggling. My throat is almost slit.. :-/

      Love xx

      Like

  16. This reminds me of the first chapter of The Secret Garden!

    Like

    • Olivia says:

      hahaha Thanks for stopping by- I know it’s been long that I did too.. Have been so occupied with so many things coming up- now shall be more regular.. Love xx

      Like

  17. Bodhirose says:

    Oh, forgot to mention that I had received an email recently that alerted me to your “All That Glitters” posting. When I clicked on “Add a Comment” it took me to your page but said that the page/posting could not be found. This has happened to me several times lately with some of your postings–but not all of them. Very peculiar, huh?

    Thought you would want to know. xo

    Like

    • Olivia says:

      Offlate, FB is being very tricky!
      Hahaha.. This one happened because I changed the publishing date! It was originally published on 5th but shifted to 6th.. 🙂
      Just check at the right side bar.. I keep doing this shuffling thingie at times.. Sorry for facing this issue!!
      Blame it on me.. 😛

      xoxox

      Like

      • Bodhirose says:

        How is it connected to Facebook though? OK, I think I understand–I can find the postings through your sidebar. Thanks.

        Like

        • Olivia says:

          Actually there is a way that you can inter- connect- WP, FB and Twitter. I have done that for good.
          I have been experiencing trouble with auto- publize feature since sometime now. How it works is, the moment I hit publish, it posts in FB n Twitter automatically!

          The side bar badge that you see is my Page in FB i.e., promoting my blog.. Even if I remove the link, the post will still link FB n Twitter. It has to do with Publish feature.

          Like

  18. Bodhirose says:

    Hi Olivia, hope you are resting comfortably with some nice soothing hot tea. 🙂

    Yes, I remember talking about that Ouija board and am not surprised that you have picked up on something trying to make a connection with you–knowing your sensitive ability for these things. I don’t think I would even keep it in my house if it may be there. We were strongly warned by our Indian teacher many years ago not to mess with those boards. He said that low vibration entities can use that “portal” to make contact with people here. They are not positive vibrations and could make a problem for you.

    I too can be affected by negative energies so I know how you feel. But a fever of 102 is not to be taken lightly–you are right.

    Yes, we have very similar springs. They go by so fast straight into summer heat usually. We are still having very nice mild weather for winter though. Summer temps are yet to show themselves.

    Please get well soon and you have my blessings and love to help keep you safe from all harm.

    Much love,
    Gayle xoxo

    Like

    • Olivia says:

      I am fit n fine now.. ready for the mundane worldly challenges.. haha
      I feel something’s coming up- just can’t figure out yet what. I am waiting in much anticipation.

      I am able to sleep peacefully now. I have told that voice to get away!

      The weather’s being super tricky. It becomes warm, it rains and then becomes foggy n then cold- in that order. Only a couple of weeks to a bloody summer.. !$@%$@#@$#

      Thank you for your blessings- I would always need those.
      Love xoxoxox

      Like

  19. Bodhirose says:

    So sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well, Olivia. It sounds like you may have caught the flu. If you’re like me the weather can have an effect on how I feel but it’s never given me a temperature. I think you’ve caught some kind of bug.

    Sounds like you have a similar spring to where I live. It usually goes from winter straight away into summer. I really wish spring would last longer too…

    Here are some loving hugs to help you feel better…
    Love you… xoxo

    Like

    • Olivia says:

      Hey Gayle..

      Thank you.. I too am surprised.

      The kind of diet I follow and my life-style, it has strengthened my immunity very well. If you would believe this, I don’t eat fast food or even outside food.. no soft- drinks, chocolates or even ice- creams. It’s been 3 years that I contracted cold. It was when I had reached Jodhpur in December that my tonsils had wanted me to be warned- they were right! Even then, I ran a temperature after 6 days. Maybe it was waiting for me to set foot back inside my home..
      Jokes apart; this time, it was different. Remember we discussed about that Ouija Board thing. I had a very strong feeling that someone was wanting to talk to me. Till the time I was hearing that, I had kept sick. The 2nd time when my domestic was doing her thing, I had constantly warded that voice off by saying in mind that I didn’t want to hear or know anything. I had felt better instantly. At times I do run a mild temperature during the PMS time, this was very different. 102 degrees wasn’t anything light. Twice that lady did her thing, the fever had come down without any medicine.

      Just to keep my sane mind in place, I had gobbled half the tablet just to tell myself that it was really a fever!
      Thank you again for your hugs.. I am doing much better now.. Negative energies affect me really bad.. It had to do something before I kick their butts!! 😀

      The other day when you had mentioned about spring, I mistook it. I had thought that you were also taking about how it is here.. Sad to know that you too miss spring. It’s time I move heavenwards to enjoy the rare exotics. That way I’ll have better things to blog about- I guess the temperature has really wobbled my grey mass.. lolsss

      Love you too.. xoxox
      P.S. I am greedy- please send me your blessing too!!

      Like

Say something..